A little about me

Alright, so I am a graduate student working on a thesis trying to solve and issue with the way women (among other minority groups) are treated in online social games. From the common sense realm, I want more people to feel comfortable playing games online (both MMOs and Shooters) without the fear of being harassed. From a business perspective, I want more people to feel comfortable playing video games, so the industry can sell more video games.

Some of you may be thinking “But Jeremy, that’s not the issue with games!” and to you I say “Nay!”

Handling diversity in the gaming industry and a issue that we have been hiding under the rug for quite some time. It is in part because people don’t know how to deal with it, hell, it’s an issue beyond the game industry that people don’t know how to deal with. There are a few outspoken folks in the game industry who understand these issues and want it to be heard, so I am here to help those people be hear, as well as deliver my two cents.

I’ve been catching a lot of flak about gender not really being an issue in gaming, but the people that say that just aren’t looking for it or are looking away from it. In my research I look into various ways of improving diversity awareness, and in addition to doing my research I will share this information with anyone who should stumble upon my blog. So strap in, enjoy, and let me enlighten you! šŸ™‚

 

J

2 comments
  1. My hats off to you šŸ™‚ Most people don’t really want to see it, but it’s certainly there. I will say it has gotten a hair better, but still a ways to go.

  2. Thank you! I feel the reason people don’t want to see it (both in games and in society) is that we as a community don’t really know how to deal with it. I would say my goal is to provide a solution to that issue to help us move forward, as we grow in both terms of an industry and community. Ideally when I’m through I will have introduced some concepts to the public ear that can, if nothing else, spark a larger movement in bettering games. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

